Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

Art Every Day Month – Day 8

4 Comments

Today I used the NaNoJouMo song-title prompt “Another is Waiting” by the Avett Brothers.  I didn’t really like the song until I read the lyrics and an article where the song writer talks about what the lyrics meant.  It is about how girls (and women) are unduly influenced by popular culture to become too thin.  I feel very strongly about that.  I have a very average body size, not too thin and not too heavy, but I always feel fat.  I could stand to lose 10 pounds and I am not worried about that.  But young girls are overly inspired by the air-brushed, anorexic-looking models they see in magazines.

I used the prompt to do a quick collage using some of the lyrics from the song and an image (unsourced) that I found on Google images which seemed to epitomize the concept.  The edges of the page were created using a skeleton stencil and black gesso.  I used a red Sharpie paint pen for highlights and doodles.

Day 8 Another is Waiting - Avett Brothers

This was a quick art journal page, which goes to show that you can be creative in 30 minutes or less if that is all the time you have.  I hope you are inspired to create today too!

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

4 thoughts on “Art Every Day Month – Day 8

  1. Powerfully makes the point. Great darkness and great choice of red sharpie for enhancement. You are on a roll!

  2. Your collage is really potent in conveying the message of the song lyrics.

Leave a Reply

