Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

Poem A Day Challenge – Day 24

4 Comments

Decorating the Tree

I’ll Be Trimming the Tree

Not for me Black Friday
Commercial hordes saving a buck
I’m staying home that day
You’ll find me listening to Christmas music
And trimming the tree
The one I purchased on Christmas Eve
Three years ago
Because the thought of doing without Christmas
Hurt too damn much
Let the masses trample the aisles
Let them spend their credit and dimes
I’ll stay home and drink hot chocolate
Watch Scrooged on TV
Eat popcorn sprinkled with lime
Retailers will just have to wait
I’ll be home trimming my tree

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

4 thoughts on “Poem A Day Challenge – Day 24

  1. Great poem… and I absolutely LOVE that drawing! Did you make it? It is simply beautiful – really struck a chord in me somewhere.

    • Thanks, Michelle/Richard! I did make it about a year ago using a very primitive online draw program. It allows you to color the background, color the lines, and it has a few line/brush strokes and that is it. I used to play with it a lot. It creates card-sized .png files, about 5″x7″.

  2. I very much agree. I hate shopping at the best of times and despise crowds. Nothing could compel me to fight my way through sales in pursuit of a bargain. I also believe the people being forced to work retail should be home with their families.

    Now tell me more about lime popcorn!

  3. Thanks, Laura! Lime popcorn = popped corn (still hot), salt, chipotle seasoning or taco seasoning (just a small amount to taste), and fresh lime juice sprinkled on…toss it all together. It tastes a little like Doritos chips. The lime juice really makes it pop.

Leave a Reply

