Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

Art Every Day Month – Day 17

2 Comments

I looked at the NaNoJouMo song-title prompt today (“Lightning Bolt” by Jake Bugg) and decided I could do a small art journal page in less than 30 minutes.  And I did.

Day 17 Lightning Bolt - Jake Bugg

I used spray inks and Distress stains to create this.  The most difficult part was cutting the card stock masks to keep the spray inks where I wanted them.  I finished up by writing and drawing the stick figure and the bare tree with a black Fude pen.  The words along the slope are from a line in the song: “In the path of a lightning bolt”.

This took 20 minutes which is all I wanted to spend on art this morning since I have other, more pressing creative and non-creative things to do today.  I hope you can spend at least 20 minutes being creative today too!

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

2 thoughts on “Art Every Day Month – Day 17

  1. I love the strong diagonal line created by the inks and the way it interacts with and complements the zigzag of the lightning strike.

  2. Thank you! In photography (and I’m sure in art too) it’s the rule of thirds. I wasn’t exact with the dimensions but I tried to eyeball it.

Leave a Reply

