Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

Art Every Day – Day 3

Leave a comment

Ugh.  Not enough time.  Hassled.  Unfocused.  I’m sure we all have those days.  But I still want to create something – anything – every day this month.   And I did it.  I gave myself 20 minutes in front of the TV (time enough for a 30 minute episode of something mindless), a tabbed manila index card, four colors of fineliner pens (brown, red, dark green, light green) and a song-title prompt from Dawn Sokol for NaNoJouMo (“From Eden” by Hozier).

There is a line in the chorus of the song that goes “I slithered here from Eden just to sit outside your door.”  That made me think of Eve and the serpent that tempted her. So, in 20 minutes  I created  doodled and called it done.

I planned to put the finished index card into my art journal as part of a larger spread about “The Fall” but then I noticed that I had cut off the bottom of the card during the scan and, more importantly, I misspelled Hozier’s name.  That’s what happens when you are feeling frazzled with not enough time to do things right.  I might add it to my journal anyway and lightly gesso over it so the poor quality is not so noticeable.  Then I’ll journal about the sin of perfectionism.  🙂

From Eden - Hozier

Okay, enough ‘creation’ for one day.  I hope your attempts fared better than mine!

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

Leave a Reply

