Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

Life Imitates Art?

2 Comments

I was doing a quick journal page today, a week behind with the prompts in my weekly art journal group, and realized after finishing the 2-page spread that, in fact, my life was imitating my art.

The prompt that I was working to was “Alphabetical”.  I googled “alphabet quote” and this one by Richard Price caught my eye.

“Writers spend three years rearranging 26 letters of the alphabet.  It’s enough to make you lose your mind day by day.”

Now, I know nothing about Richard Price or whether he is an author.  My mind was on how to interpret the quote in my art journal.  Which I did.  (That’s the almost unreadable quote below the head on the left page.)

Journal52 wk 34 Alphabetical

It wasn’t until I posted this art journal spread online in the Journal52 group that I realized how it applies to my own life.  For three years now I have been writing and editing a novel, my first.  I have deleted and re-arranged a huge portion of the book and I’m still not finished.  It really can make you feel like you’ve lost your mind….or at least the idea you first started with.

So, there you have it.  Life imitating art (or is it the other way around?).  Hope you are doing something creative today!

(Author’s Note:  It turns out I do know something about Richard Price but his name did not ring a bell when I saw the quote.  He is the author of the books “The Wanderers” and “Clockers” and also wrote the screenplays for “Sea of Love”, “The Color of Money”, “Ransom” and many others. Okay.  Credit where credit is due.)

 

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

2 thoughts on “Life Imitates Art?

  1. This is a great post, and it uses a great quote. I’ve been a Richard Price fan since THE WANDERERS. He has a blink-your-eyes-and-you-miss-him cameo in THE COLOR OF MONEY, which I also enjoyed very much.

    Really glad to see the frequency of these posts going up! Rock on, and I hope to meet you some fine day!

  2. Thanks, you! And I’m sure you will!

Leave a Reply

