Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

Doodle Do

1 Comment

Sometimes I really want to journal in my art journal, not just create art.  Maybe just speak my thoughts in writing.  Doodle them.  Scribble them.  Therein comes a new art journal called “Art Doodle Love: A Journal of Self-Discovery” by Dawn Sokol. (Find it here on Amazon:  http://tinyurl.com/oslklow )

This journal contains journaling prompts and many already colored/designed pages so all you have to do is write, doodle, paint, or scribble in them using any type of art media you wish.   I got this for those times when I want to do something easy while watching TV or spending a few moments outside or in a coffee shop but I don’t want to take my whole arsenal of art supplies with me.  It’s a perfect size to fit in a purse or a tote.  The provided prompts (which you don’t have to use if you choose not to) give you inspiration on where to start if your Muse has left you for a cabana boy at the Jersey Shore.

I received this journal just two days ago and read the introductory pages.  On pages 20-21 it said to write out your intentions for the journal.  I did that in gel pen, then I over-journaled them and doodled across what I wrote.  These are my very first artsy pages in the journal and were based around two items that were sitting on my desk at the time:  1) a label from a piece of fruit I had just eaten and 2) my young kitty Misty (as opposed to my older kitty Cookie).  I used a black Fude pen, a white Signo Broad pen, an 05 Micro pen in black, and several colors of Tombow pens (to color the doodles).

ArtDoodleLove - Intention 21 ArtDoodleLove - Intentions 20-21

What creative thing have you done today?

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

One thought on “Doodle Do

  1. Color Freedom in joyous action. How does she do it, Folks? I’m so envious!

Leave a Reply

