Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

The End… And the Beginning

4 Comments

It is July 31st, the last day of the Daisy Yellow Index Card a Day challenge for 2014.  Sixty-one days in June and July equals sixty-one (plus) index cards chock full of art.

Here is a display of the 67 cards I created for the ICAD2014 challenge:

Photos from Jul 30, 2014

So what have I learned from participating in this challenge?

  • I can complete a challenge.  I love starting new projects but follow-through is not my strong suit.  What made this one different?  For starters, it didn’t take too much of my time each day.  Maybe 30 minutes.  And it was A.R.T!
  • Participating in a group where sharing and cameraderie are present makes a huge difference to success.  Even professional artists were more than willing to share their techniques and had nothing but good things to say about the efforts of all members of the group.
  • If you are in a group, praise people’s effort even if you think you can’t praise their product.  This is like giving gold stars for participating.  People (I) crave affirmation and are more willing to participate when their efforts are seen and commented on.
  • Experimentation is good.  If a challenge or project goes on for any period of time, it can become boring or it might start feeling like a chore rather than a privilege.  When that happens I have found that I can keep going if I try something I’ve never tried before (a new technique, a new product, a new concept).  Not all of the experiments will work as expected but, even if they fail, you have learned something.
  • That leads me to something else I learned:  post your mistakes, your ugly output, your not-quite-what-was-expected pieces.  It is humbling to show your imperfect self and your imperfect output. But your humility, as well as an explanation of what didn’t work and why, will help you later on when you try again and it will help others too.  People like knowing that you are as human as they are.
  • I want to mix it up.  There are people who want to keep creating an index card every day until next year’s ICAD challenge.  Kudos to them. Really!  But I already know that won’t work for me.  Give me a new challenge, a different challenge.  I like novelty.  I like learning.  I don’t like doing the same thing day after day.
  • The discipline of doing something creative on a regular basis seems to spawn the creative spirit.  All of a sudden, I have inspiration seeping out of my pores. Ideas for art journal pages, mixed media paintings, ATCs, monoprinting, photography and even poetry are coming to me faster than I could ever create them.  Maybe I ought to write down my ideas.

Thanks to Tammy Garcia and her Daisy Yellow Index Card a Day challenges!  If you’d like to participate in any of her artistic challenges, you can find out more on her website:  http://daisyyellowart.com/

 

 

 

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

4 thoughts on “The End… And the Beginning

  1. Well done on completing a challenge! I always like to have at least one creative challenge on the go. I hope you have another lined up.

  2. I’m starting another weekly challenge tomorrow. There is a followup daily ‘prompt’ challenge that also starts tomorrow but I might want to give myself a little breathing room for the rest of the summer and stick with weekly challenges. Thanks for reading my blog and commenting!

  3. It’s been a joy watching you bloom as you grew a body of work. You’re so many kinds of creator: mother, doodler, poet, chef-in-the-rough, decorator, novelist. Creation is what you do best!

  4. Thank you! I doodle you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

