Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

Scoring Art (in more ways than one)

9 Comments

I follow quite a number of mixed media art blogs. It’s how I learn about new techniques and products. One of my favorites is StencilGirl Talk at http://www.stencilgirltalk.com/.  A few weeks ago they did a blog hop with a giveaway.  The prize?  Three newly released 6″ stencils by Stencil Girl artist Seth Apter.  And, guess what?  I was one of two readers who won the giveaway….all for following the blog hop and making a few comments along the way.  SCORE!!

Here are the three Seth Apter stencils I won, all of which have great text, numbers, symbols and grunge elements:

Image

Around the same time, I obtained a brand new Ranger Dylusions mixed media journal.  The large one at almost 9″x12″.  At an unheard-of price! SCORE AGAIN!!

Image

I intend to use the Seth Apter stencils to create journal covers for my ongoing weekly art journal pages, but before doing that I wanted to just play around with the stencils and see how I might use some of the varied elements together.  So I used the first two pages of my brand-spanking new Dylusions journal and I played.

Materials used:
Gelli plate monoprints on deli paper (I picked two at random from prints I had made previously)
Acrylic craft paint (white, black, gold, and magenta)
3 Seth Apter Stencil Girl stencils (Timeless, Inside-Out, and Past-Present-Future)
Magazine cutouts (eyes and mouth)
Liquitex Matte Medium (for adhering collage elements)
Faber-Castell Pitt Big Brush Artist Pens (white, black, magenta)

Here are photos of the two art journal pages I created. I used most of the elements on the three Seth Apter stencils in creating the two pages. Very grungy!  Score again!!!

Image

Image  Image

These pages are not “pretty” but I sure had fun creating them!  And, in the near future, I hope to use these same stencils on journal covers for my weekly art journal.  I’ll post again at that time.  In the meantime, if you wish to purchase these stencils, they can be found here:  http://www.stencilgirlproducts.com/category-s/1853.htm   Thank you again to StencilGirl for this opportunity!!

 

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

9 thoughts on “Scoring Art (in more ways than one)

  1. Very nice presentation of creative backstory!

  2. I actually think these pages are quite lovely! Congrats on winning the giveaway btw!

  3. Love the pages. Much better than “pretty” pages 🙂 Congrats on winning the blog hop!

  4. Wow!!! You did Seth proud 🙂 these are wonderful pages. Thanks for following us at StencilGirl Talk.

  5. Thanks so much, MaryBeth! I love the stencils at StencilGirl!

  6. I think I might (might, lol) add these to my wishlist! Awesome pages.

  7. Thanks, Ingeborg. You should! I just bought one of his 12″ ones too.

Leave a Reply

