Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

Make the World Go Away

Leave a comment

It has been months since I’ve posted anything in my blog.  I bought a house, remodeled part of it, unpacked and decorated it; hosted a family reunion with 35 attendees; and went through a depressive episode and came out the other side.  You get the drill. We all work in the Real World.  Life often gets in the way of creative pursuits and non-obligatory tasks.  Yes, it happened to me but now I’m back and rearin’ to go with my creativity in 2014.

I never set New Year’s resolutions because by February I’ve already flaked on them. But I do try to write down a bucket list (things I really want to do) or intentions (things that I think I should focus on, such as listening more).  I usually do this sometime in early January.  I post these where I can see them and I try to fit them in throughout the year.   This year, a major focus for me will be on freeing my creative spirit.   To that end, in the first two weeks of January I have signed up for two multi-week online courses (mixed media painting, art in healing); have taken a workshop in creating a Vision Board for the year; and I’ve decided to pursue a few weekly challenges (art journaling, photography, poetry) that will be ongoing throughout the year.

My creative pursuits get me out of my head and into the present moment.  During the time I am creating, the world goes away and I am left with ‘here now’.  That’s a good thing.  But because I never think my creative output is good enough, I always have to fight my inner critic telling me that my efforts are crap and not to post them.  I am working on that.  So, scary as it is, I will post here a few photos of things I have worked on:

Art Journal page week 1: (Prompt was up, up and away)

Image

Mixed Media Collage:

Image

Photo Challenge Week 1:  (Prompt was to focus on a single item)

Image

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

Leave a Reply

