Ain't No Ninny

Where Creativity and Everyday Life Collide

Twitter: A Pleiades Poem

7 Comments

Image

As usual, my mind works in mysterious ways.

I was thinking about Twitter and how, as a poet or an author or a blogger, you can only tweet very short posts that say very little (unless, of course, you post your thoughts in a blog and reference the blog post from Twitter).  It is always a challenge to condense a thought into 140 characters or less. 

On the same day I had that thought about Twitter I received a poetry prompt to write a Pleiades.  A Pleiades is a short poem of seven lines and a title all starting with the same letter. It is named after the constellation Pleiades, a grouping of seven stars also known as the seven sisters.

So, I wrote a Pleiades about Twitter and posted it in my blog so that I could reference it on Twitter.  A complete circle.

Twitter
  The little bird speaks in short tweets
  Telling the world about life in 140 characters or less
  Trying to condense love to brief bursts of energy
  Tweet a little song, reply, then re-tweet another’s song
  The act of conversing disappears into the ether
  Time and distance are shortened but
  Then nothing much is said   

Author: aintnoninny

I write poetry and fiction; create doodle art; do genealogical research; take photographs of the world around me; think about odd things; hike the red rocks; and obsess on food.

7 thoughts on “Twitter: A Pleiades Poem

  1. 🙂 I like.

    Your poem made me think that Twitter is akin to the Siren’s song.

  2. Cute poem! I should try a twitter poem myself.. one decorated with hashtags =P. Keep up the nice blog!

  3. yes, do write a poem / decorate it with hashtags / feed it to the bird(s) 🙂

    Thanks for the comment!

  4. flitter

    flighty in the air-o-space sense
    fleece-feathered foraying
    flamboyant buoyance
    following fragrances
    faring well up above
    flurrying forth and
    flouting facebook

Leave a Reply

